Guillaume Connesson, born in 1970, is currently one of the most widely performed French composers worldwide. Commissions are at the origin of most of his works (Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Philadelphia Orchestra, Orchestre National de France...) including Pour sortir au jour, commissioned by the Chicago Symphony Orchestra (2013) and Les Trois Cités de Lovecraft (co-commission of the Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra and the Orchestre National de Lyon). Moreover, his music is regularly played by numerous orchestras (Brussels Philharmonic, Orchestre National de France, National Symphony Orchestra of Washington, Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra, BBC Symphony Orchestra et al.)

He won a Victoire de la Musique award in 2015 and 2019 as well as Sacem's Grand Prize in 2012. His discography includes, amongst others, two monographs of chamber music and three symphonic monographs on the Deutsche Grammophon label. The first, Lucifer, and the third, Lost Horizon, obtained a 'Choc' from Classica magazine, and the second, Pour sortir au jour, numerous critical distinctions such as the 'Diapason d'Or de l'Année' as well the Classica 'Choc de l'Année'.

After studies at the Conservatoire National de Région in Boulogne-Billancourt (his birthplace) and the Paris Conservatoire, he obtained premiers prix in choral direction, history of music, analysis, electro-acoustic and orchestration.

He has been professor of orchestration at the Aubervilliers-La Courneuve Conservatory since 1997.

From 2016 to 2018, he was in residence with the Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra as well as with the Orchestre National de Lyon. From 2019 to 2021, he is in residence with the Orchestre National d'Ile-de-France.

RESIDENCIES

Orchestre National d'Ile-de-France (2019-2021)

Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra (2017-2018)

Orchestre National de Lyon (2016-2018)

Compositeur associé du Brussels Philharmonic (2016-)

Orchestre de Pau Pays de Béarn (2010-2012)

Royal Scottish National Orchestra (2005-2007)

Orchestre National des Pays de la Loire (1999-2003)

AWARDS

Victoire de la Musique Classique, composer of the year (2019)

Victoire de la Musique Classique, composer of the year (2015)

Grand Prize for Symphonic Music, Sacem (2012)

Grand Prize Lycéens des compositeurs (2006)

Nadia and Lili Boulanger Prize, Institut de France (1999)

Cardin Prize, Institut de France (1998)

Born in 1970, Guillaume Connesson is too young to have had to submit to the ideological and aesthetical diktats imposed on the previous generation of composers. His music, always well-sounding and often spectacular, has absorbed all sorts of multiple influences. His very personal world is a work in progress, growing out of the mix of pragmatism and naïveté which is the trademark of all great creators. Over time and along a great diversity of compositions, Guillaume Connesson’s inspiration follows, in the composer’s own words, " the complex mosaïc of the modern world ".

His first steps were guided by a need to open up to other influences, like pop music - as evidenced in Night Club for orchestra (1996), Double Quatuor (1994) and Disco-Toccata (1994).This primarily rhythmic and hedonist vein, so rare in contemporary ‘serious’ music, reached its peak with the brilliant Techno-Parade for flute, clarinet and piano (2002). As in the works of American composers of the repetitive school (Reich, Adams) - another decisive influence, to wit Sextuor (1998) - the spirit of dance is omnipresent in Connesson’s music. It is therefore not surprising to learn that the cinema aloso inspired him : L’Aurore (1998) was composed as soundtrack to Murnau’s eponymous silent movie.

Guillaume Connesson’s orchestral writing tries to create strong images, that will have a long-lasting effect on the listener. Yet he likes the uncertain, the unpredictable, the meandering melodies which find their resolution in a rich, dense, sometimes thick-woven yet always intell(e)gible writing. L’Appel du feu, a suite from L’Aurore, Enluminures (1999) or Triptyque symphonique (1997-2007) demonstrate his unequalled know-how as an orchestrator, whose harmonic twists and turns are always at the service of expression. In other words, the composer’s luminous compositional language is never the result nor the starting point of vain experimentation. Pragmatism vs idealism ? Yes indeed, if that means giving the pleasure of the ear precedence over fruitless speculation. Connesson - how revolutionary - writes music for the knowing musician. With all the means at his disposal, he also tries to adress a wider public by capturing its attention and sharpening its curiosity.

 

Add to his love of opera the fact that he is not afraid of lyrical outbursts, and it logically follows that Guillaume Connesson would write for the voice. Liturgies de l’ombre, Le Livre de l’amour and Medea, for female voice, all composed between 2000 and 2004, certainly mark a shift, if not a turning point in his career. The pieces reveal a more tormented, anguished inner world. Elegies fraught with emotion (De l’espérance, on a poem by Charles Péguy, or the complete Liturgies de l’ombre cycle ; My Sweet Sister on a poem by Lord Byron in Le Livre de l’amour and even in an orchestra piece from the same period : Une lueur dans l’âge sombre, 2005) or desperate, passionate scenes (the fierce Medea after a text by Jean Vauthier) let new interrogations show through.

His cantata for solo voice, choir and orchestra Athanor (2003) - an ambitious, striking, flamboyant piece - synthetizes all these influences and inspirations. The title is a reference to the alchimist’s furnace. A symbol, not to say an emblem for an artist in ceaseless pursuit of the miracle that would let music instantly turn the next minute into eternity."

Bertrand Dermoncourt.

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon

Copyright © 2019 Guillaume Connesson | Developed by Fanny Houillon

Guillaume Connesson, né en 1970, est actuellement un des compositeurs français les plus joués dans le monde. Des commandes sont à l'origine de la plupart de ses oeuvres (Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Philadelphia Orchestra, Orchestre National de France...) ainsi Pour sortir au jour commande du Chicago Symphony Orchestra (2013) ou Les Trois Cités de Lovecraft (co-commande du Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra et de l'Orchestre National de Lyon). Par ailleurs sa musique est régulièrement interprétée par de nombreux orchestres (Brussels Philharmonic, Orchestre National de France, National Symphony Orchestra, Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra, BBC Symphony Orchestra,...)

 

Il remporte deux Victoires de la Musique en 2015 et en 2019 ainsi que le Grand Prix de la Sacem en 2012. Sa discographie comprend entre autres deux monographies de musique de chambre et trois monographies symphoniques chez Deutsche Grammophon. La première Lucifer et la troisième Lost Horizon ont obtenu le Choc Classica, la deuxième Pour sortir au jour de nombreuses récompenses critiques comme le Diapason d'Or de l'année ainsi que le Choc Classica de l'année. 

Après des études au Conservatoire National de Région de Boulogne-Billancourt (sa ville natale) et au Conservatoire National de Paris, il remporte des Premiers prix de Direction de choeur, Histoire de la Musique, Analyse, Electro-acoustique et Orchestration. Depuis 1997 il est professeur d'orchestration au CRR d'Aubervilliers-La Courneuve.

De 2016 à 2018, il est en résidence avec le Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra ainsi qu'avec l'Orchestre National de Lyon. De 2019 à 2021, il sera en résidence avec l'Orchestre National d'Ile-de-France.

RÉSIDENCES

Orchestre National d'Ile-de-France (2019-2021)

Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra (2017-2018)

Orchestre National de Lyon (2016-2018)

Compositeur associé du Brussels Philharmonic (2016-)

Orchestre de Pau Pays de Béarn (2010-2012)

Royal Scottish National Orchestra (2005-2007)

Orchestre National des Pays de la Loire (1999-2003)

RÉCOMPENSES

Victoire de la Musique Classique, compositeur de l'année (2019)

Victoire de la Musique Classique, compositeur de l'année (2015)

Grand Prix de la musique symphonique de la Sacem (2012)

Grand Prix Lycéens des compositeurs (2006)

Prix Nadia et Lili Boulanger de l'Institut de France (1999)

Prix Cardin de L'Institut de France (1998)

Né en 1970, Guillaume Connesson n’a pas subi les diktats idéologiques et esthétiques qui régissaient encore le travail des artistes de la génération précédente. Toujours bien sonnante, souvent spectaculaire, sa musique a profité, au contraire, d’influences multiples, sans frontière ni tabou. Avec un mélange de pragmatisme et de naïveté qui sont la marque des grands créateurs, un univers très personnel s’est construit. L’inspiration de Guillaume Connesson a ainsi pu suivre, au fil du temps et d’œuvres d’une grande diversité, “la mosaïque complexe du monde contemporain”, pour reprendre ses propres termes.

Ses premiers pas de compositeur sont guidés par un besoin d’ouverture qui s’exprime par l’influence marquante des musiques populaires, perceptible dans des œuvres comme Night Club, pour orchestre (1996), le Double Quatuor (1994) ou la Disco-Toccata (1994). Cette veine essentiellement rythmique et hédoniste, si rare dans la musique savante contemporaine, s’est poursuivie jusqu’à la brillante Techno-Parade pour flûte, clarinette et piano, composée en 2002. Comme chez les compositeurs répétitifs américains (Reich, Adams) qui eurent également une influence déterminante sur le jeune Connesson – en témoigne encore son Sextuor de 1998 – l’esprit de la danse irrigue ses partitions. On ne sera pas surpris non plus de constater que son invention ait alors été stimulée par le cinéma avec L’Aurore, en 1998, pour accompagner le film muet de Murnau.

Dans ses œuvres orchestrales, Guillaume Connesson cherche en effet à créer des images fortes, propres à impressionner durablement l’auditeur. Il aime cependant les atmosphères changeantes et les mélodies sinueuses qui trouvent leur résolution dans une écriture riche, dense, parfois touffue et pourtant toujours lisible. L’Appel du feu, suite tirée de L’Aurore, Enluminures (1999) ou le Triptyque symphonique (1997-2007) illustrent ce métier d’orchestrateur hors pair, dont les recherches harmoniques sont toujours au service de l’expression. Autrement dit, le langage musical lumineux choisi par le compositeur n’est jamais assujetti à des expérimentations stériles. Pragmatisme contre idéalisme ? Oui, si l’oreille est préférée à la spéculation. Connesson, ô révolution !, écrit pour des musiciens complices. Il tente aussi, par tous les moyens musicaux à sa disposition, de s’adresser à un public dont il sait capter l’attention et aiguiser la curiosité.

Puisqu’il aime par-dessus tout l’opéra et qu’il n’a pas peur des épanchements lyriques, Guillaume Connesson devait écrire pour la voix. Liturgies de l’ombre, Le Livre de l’amour et Medea, pour voix de femme, ont vu le jour entre 2000 et 2004 et marquent certainement une inflexion, voire un tournant dans son parcours de compositeur. Ces pages dévoilent un monde plus intérieur, tourmenté, angoissé. Des interrogations nouvelles transparaissent dans de pénétrantes élégies (“De L’espérance”, sur un poème de Charles Péguy, comme tout le cycle des Liturgies de l’ombre ; “My Sweat Sister”, de Lord Byron, dans Le Livre de l’amour ; et même dans une pièce orchestrale de la même période, comme Une lueur dans l’âge sombre, 2005) ou dans des scènes d’une rage désespérée (l’âpre Medea, d’après un texte de Jean Vauthier).

Ces différentes inspirations sont synthétisées dans l’ambitieuse cantate pour soliste, chœur et orchestre Athanor (2003), saisissante partition haute en couleurs et en émotions, dont le nom est celui que l’on donne au fourneau des alchimistes. Un symbole et même un emblème pour un artiste qui cherche sans cesse à provoquer le miracle, celui qui permettrait à la musique de transformer l’instant en éternité. "

Bertrand Dermoncourt.

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon

Copyright © 2019 Guillaume Connesson | Developed by Fanny Houillon